Wingate University gala features award-winning author Jill McCorkle

Award-winning author Jill McCorkle
Contact: Kim Williams
Communications Writer

Wingate, N.C. – An award-winning N.C. author will speak at a special event at Wingate University. Guest author, Jill McCorkle, will discuss her latest book, Life After Life, which Entertainment Weekly deems “sharply real.” The 4th Annual Gala is presented by the Friends of the Ethel K. Smith Library. The event will be on Friday, April 25 at 7 p.m. in the LaVerne Banquet Hall on campus.

Guests will enjoy dinner, an author talk with McCorkle and a silent auction. All guests will have the opportunity to purchase copies of Life After Life, meet the author and get their book personally signed. Reservations are required and tickets are $50 per person. Contact Christy Inge at 704-233-8091 or "The Friends of the Library act as a champion of the Ethel K. Smith Library by providing promotional, community and financial support," said Christy Inge, access services manager for the Ethel K. Smith Library. "They've scheduled many notable authors, like McCorkle."

Learn more at

Wingate University
Wingate University, ranked as the 8th "best value" in the South by U.S. News & World Report, serves more than 3,000 students on three campuses in Wingate, Charlotte and Hendersonville, N.C. Founded in 1896, the University offers 35 undergraduate majors, 37 minors and career concentrations, numerous pre-professional programs, graduate degrees in business, accounting, education, physician assistant studies and sport administration, and doctorates in pharmacy, physical therapy and education. With a 14 to 1 student/teacher ratio, Wingate students gain the tools and support needed to excel in academics and apply that learning toward an extraordinary career and life.

To view current news, video and story ideas, visit

In addition to a robust intramural athletics program, Wingate student athletes compete in 22 NCAA Division II sports. The University has won the South Atlantic Conference Echols Athletic Excellence Award for the past seven years. For more information, go to