Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Skip To Main Content

DEI Councils

Mission for DEI Council

DEI Council 

The Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Council's mission is to work together to ignite and lead the diversity and inclusion process at the university. The council serves as a critical driver in fostering change by developing and championing policies, procedures or activities to create a welcoming environment for the campus community. The current members of the council are:

  • Jennifer Armentrout, director of international programs
  • Dr. Rhett Brown, university president
  • Sergio Castello, dean of the Porter B. Byrum School of Business
  • Dr. Reeti Douglas, assistant professor of occupational therapy
  • Dr. Tarra Ellis, assistant professor of education
  • Dr. Antonio Jefferson, assistant vice president for diversity, equity and inclusion
  • Marcus Kirkland, director of diversity and inclusion for athletics
  • Dr. Candace Lapan, assistant professor of psychology
  • Sherri Satterfield, vice president of human resources
  • Dr. Eric Schneider, vice provost for institutional effectiveness
  • Ben Sidbury, general counsel and chief of staff
  • Dr. April Smith, assistant vice president for community standards

DEI Council

Jennifer Armentrout

Executive Director of Global Engagement

Dr. Rhett Brown


Dr. Sergio Castello

Dean, Porter B. Byrum School of Business

Dr. Reeti Douglas

Assistant Professor, Occupational Therapy, Assistant Professor

Dr. Tarra Ellis

Associate Professor, Education, History & Education Program Coordinator, edTPA Coordinator

Dr. Antonio Jefferson

Assistant Vice President of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion

Marcus Kirkland

Associate Head Coach, Men's Basketball , Director of Athletics Diversity and Inclusion

Candace Lapan

Assistant Professor, Psychology

Sherri Satterfield

VP of Human Resources

Eric Schneider

Vice Provost for Institutional Effectiveness

Ben Sidbury

General Counsel and Senior Vice President

Dr. April Smith

Assistant Vice President for Community Standards

Student DEI Council

Wingate University's Student Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Council cultivates an inclusive and welcoming environment for all students through action and engagement in anti-discriminatory practices, anti-racism education, student empowerment, and campus integration.

2021-2022 Members

  • Ra'saun Lakeith Elliott, Vocal Performance, '22
  • Paris Friday, Doctor of Pharmacy, '23
  • Carla Gomez Laguna, Political Science, '22
  • Devansh J. Mehta, Political Science, '24
  • Janvi Patel, Finance, '23
  • Terrigin Pompey, Biology, '24
  • Jayda E. Prezeau, Pre-Med, '23
  • Taylor Stachnik, Psychology, '22
  • Jessica Thomas, Biology (Pre-PA), '24
  • Briana N. Tompkins, Nursing, '23
  • Emiyah M. Watkins, Political Science, '23
  • Leila-Therese Woel, Criminal Justice, '23
  • Alisha Woodside, Doctor of OT, '23