Getting a North Carolina driver’s license or state ID is a great idea for alternative official identification. It makes your day-to-day life easier, too.
You need photo identification (ID) for many transactions in the United States. Having a state ID or driver’s license keeps you from having to carry your passport.
State Identification Card
If you don’t plan to drive while you’re at Wingate University, we recommend getting a North Carolina identification card.
Bring the following to the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to apply:
- Proof of legal presence (serves as proof of age and identity): Valid passport, I-94, I-20 or DS-2019 and visa stamp
- Proof of North Carolina residency: Enrollment verification from the Office of the Registrar meets this requirement (also serves as proof of age and identity)
- Social Security card: If you are ineligible for a SSN, your legal presence documents suffice.
- $10 application fee: Must be paid with cash or check only.
North Carolina law requires that you have and carry a valid North Carolina license if you drive a vehicle.
Bring the following documentation to the DMV to apply:
- Proof of legal presence: See above
- Proof of North Carolina residency: See above
- Social Security card: See above
- Proof of liability insurance
- Application fee ($4/year): License is issued for five or eight years depending on your date of birth, or until the expiration of your legal presence. Payable by cash or check only.
You must pass the following DMV tests:
- Refer to the North Carolina Driver’s Handbook to study for the driving exams. Private driving lessons are available nearby.
- Driving knowledge (written)
- Driving skills: Make sure someone with a valid license drives you to the DMV.
- Traffic signs
Local Testing Sites
Monroe – DMV Building
Monday – Saturday
Polkton – DMV Building
Monday – Friday